travallen'

movin’ on

with one comment

One of my favorite travels is up to the mountains when the leaves are changing. I can't wait for fall!

Post number 2, woo hoo! Still trying to be as cohesive as possible, carrying themed blog posts throughout each of my posts. I tried my best to do some of the same categories from last week, but I just get so excited when I see something new!

1. Travel tip
2. Travel in U.S.
3. Cheap travel
4. Backpacking
5. Wildcard: Volunteering

1. Travel tip:
Not so much as tip, as a heads up. This article by Gadling lists the top 10 pickpocketing cities. Pickpocketing is a traveler’s worst nightmare. The article isn’t meant to scare, but I thought it was something people should be aware of.

2. Travel in the U.S.:
Again, a posting by Gadling (I guess they’re just good). This one is about the drive they deem the most beautiful in the United States. What’s more fun than a roadtrip?

3. Cheap travel:
The whole reason I chose to do a travel blog was because I love to travel, but unfortunately do not have a money tree growing in my backyard. Yes, I sound just like my mother. But seriously…getting around the world (in semi-style) aint cheap! This post by Tim Leffer gives tips about how to travel throughout Asia cheaply. They also link a few helpful sites, which is always nice. Enjoy!

4. Backpacking:
FoxNomad
turned me on to this awesome competition in the world of backpacking. He has asked that people turn in a 3-5 minute video describing what aspect of what city they want to be a part of for a 6 day backpacking adventure. The winner will receive airfare to nearly any city (up to $1,000) and hostel accommodations (up to $200) for 6 nights. How awesome!?

5. Wildcard: Volunteering
As they say in this article, travel can be a very selfish act. You take a trip to whereever you want to take care of yourself and your needs. But this doesn’t always have to be the case. Volunteering your way around the globe is a great way to travel cheaply while helping people around the world! BootsnAll gives a rookie’s guide to volunteering, complete with links to other helpful sites to get your expedition under way!

Written by Lauren Allen

September 20, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Posted in Travel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Lauren, thank you for including me! I hope you’ll consider entering the contest, would love to see what you come up with šŸ™‚

    Anil

    September 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm


Leave a Reply

